Uganda Overview

Uganda's National Flag.

Area – 241,038 km2
Currency – Uganda Shilling
President – Yoweri Kaguta Museveni
Population – 37,101,745 (July 2015 est)
Capital City – Kampala
Official Languages – English and Swahili

Uganda also known as the ‘The Pearl of Africa’, covers three key habitat varieties as it straddles the regional diversity between East and West Africa. Key habitats include; savannah, rainforest and montane, where you can discover Africa’s ‘big five’ species and a diverse range of mammals, reptiles and prolific levels of birdlife. Uganda is also claimed as the source of the River Nile, which empties from Lake Victoria. There are ten national parks, many more wildlife reserves to explore and two UNESCO world heritage sites; Bwindi Impenetrable National Park home to the mountain gorillas and the snow capped peaks of the Rwenzori Mountains National Park, which hold Africa’s third highest peak.